Firing bolter causes game to freeze for 3-5 seconds

Report your bugs and crashes here.
Locked
drokk
Posts: 6
Joined: 14 December 2016, 23:59

Firing bolter causes game to freeze for 3-5 seconds

Post by drokk » 15 December 2016, 00:03

Problem persisted throughout tutorial into the first level. Didn't have this problem in the beta.

If I continue firing, it will freeze for a few seconds, then will be fine for a few seconds, and then continue freezing in that order.

Game runs fine otherwise. :(

Gilambesh
Posts: 41
Joined: 27 June 2015, 09:49

Re: Firing bolter causes game to freeze for 3-5 seconds

Post by Gilambesh » 15 December 2016, 00:15

Have you tried messing with your video settings? I would be interested to see if you get the issue with various setting switched off or on.

The reason I say this is that I have seen this sort of thing before. However, this could be a total red herring.

SilentLine
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 December 2016, 00:54

Re: Firing bolter causes game to freeze for 3-5 seconds

Post by SilentLine » 15 December 2016, 00:57

I am also having this problem, but not just when shooting occurs. I have tried turning down all settings and updated my drivers, i have tried everything short of reinstalling the whole game.

drokk
Posts: 6
Joined: 14 December 2016, 23:59

Re: Firing bolter causes game to freeze for 3-5 seconds

Post by drokk » 15 December 2016, 01:18

Messing with my graphics settings yielded no change. I may try a clean reinstall and see if that does it.

drokk
Posts: 6
Joined: 14 December 2016, 23:59

Re: Firing bolter causes game to freeze for 3-5 seconds

Post by drokk » 15 December 2016, 03:23

Reinstall/redownload had no effect.

It would seem that firing is not the only thing that causes the short freezes, but is the primary source.

I suppose I can try multiplayer and see if it's isolated to campaign.

drokk
Posts: 6
Joined: 14 December 2016, 23:59

Re: Firing bolter causes game to freeze for 3-5 seconds

Post by drokk » 16 December 2016, 03:59

Solution found:

A reddit poster offered this solution:

"Its got something to do with the Hyperthreading, i had exactly the same problem (i5 Quadcore). Try this: Go to Task Manager, rightclick on the Deathwing Task->Affinities>Switch off a core or two.

Im running the game on 3 cores instead of 4, and now it runs like a charm."

I can confirm this also solved the issue on my machine. Cheers.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest